Ink butterfly

I quite enjoyed doing the seahorse, and I was in Warehouse Stationery looking for more ink colours when I saw the different pouring mediums and various bits for mixing with paints (I don’t pretend to know what any of these are!). I bought two – Liquitex pouring medium, and Atelier clear painting medium. 


I experimented with these to see what sort of effects I got. I found that both affected the way the ink moved through the liquid quite differently to water. The Liquitex pouring medium is quite a bit thicker, so for this butterfly I used the Atelier clear painting medium (mid-viscosity) and ink. The only thing is, this stuff takes forever to dry (which I gather from the description is sort of the point of it but still…)


Close ups of some completed sections:


And the finished piece:

Leave a Reply

