Pukeko in ink

I did this for a Christmas present. It was a little rushed, and I’m not entirely happy with how it turned out. It definitely looked different in my head!

I started with the pencil sketch on 300gsm watercolour paper.

20161218_040454136_ios

Quite frankly, I think it looked best like this. From here on in it went downhill.

I thought I’d do the background first, but with the way the ink pools and dries towards the edges, it gave an odd effect of being darker against the outline of the Pukeko.

20161218_042042766_ios

Also, I used a different brand of watercolour paper to normal and I had real issues with it rippling and warping.

I didn’t bother taking any more progress shots, and I didn’t even take a picture of it framed for gifting or even scan it in, so the only other shot I have is the following cell phone picture of the “finished” piece.

20161218_075722471_ios

There is a bit of pearlescent shimmer on the blue section of the adult pukeko, and in the flax in the background. But really, I was kind of glad this disaster was over.

Leave a Reply

